Apple drops the UX ball

This morning, in the middle of my cup of coffee, I noticed that the App Store icon on the Macbook was indicating that I had 3 updates to download and install.

“Oh! I wonder what needs updating?” I think to myself.

I click the icon and hop over to the Updates tab. Unfortunately, nothing exciting needs updating. But, I click on one of the Update buttons anyway.

Before any updating happens, I’m presented w/ a popup form and asked to sign in to my Apple account.

“Huh? I thought I was already signed in.”

I enter my credentials, click login, and I’m presented w/ a message indicating that my account has been disabled for security reasons and needs to be reset. I get transferred to the webpage Apple’s setup for account self-service (iForgot – makes me roll my eyes).

I reset my password and get properly signed into the App Store. Back to the Updates tab again and click on an Update button. Another warning pops up. I now need to update my payment information (mind you, I bought these apps months and months ago… I’m not buying anything right now). /sigh

I get my payment information updated (nothing changed, just had to confirm the info). I click on Update for a third time to update a piece of software. I’m presented w/ yet another popup warning. I need to agree to a new terms of use. Holy crap!

At this point, I’m pissed. And it’s legal jargon TLDR situation. I quickly click the Agree button and fume as I go back to the Updates tab and click the Update button.

Finally… FINALLY, the update begins to download.

For the love, Apple, YOU’RE DOING IT WRONG!

One reply to “Apple drops the UX ball”

Comments are closed.